​​MACRA University

Clinical Practice Improvement Activities

This Performance Category rewards clinicians who employ Clinical Practice Improvement Activities (CPIAs).  Medicare has identified over 90 CPIAs.  In 2017 CPIAs make up 15% of the MIPS Composite Performance Score.  Examples of CPIAs include activities that focus on care coordination, beneficiary engagement, and patient safety.   Clinicians may also receive credit toward scores in this category for engaging in APMs and Patient-Centered Medical Homes. 

An expanded list of proposed CPIA categories are listed below:

  • Expanded practice access
  • Beneficiary engagement
  • Achieving health equity
  • Population management
  • Patient safety and practice assessment
  • Emergency preparedness and response
  • Care coordination
  • Participation in an APM, including a medical home model
  • Integrated behavioral and mental health

CPIA Scoring:  Clinicians and groups can achieve up to 60 points for this category.  There are two types of CPIAs: Medium and highly weighted.  Medium weighted activities are worth 10 points and highly weighted activities are worth 20 points.